2022-04-09 07:33:00

The Storm have bagged their fourth win of the season with a comprehensive 30-16 win over the Raiders.

The opening 10 minutes was a tight tussle between the two sides with the only points scored through a Brad Schneider penalty goal.

It came off the back of Cameron Munster’s high tackle of halfback Brad Schneider.

The Storm came close to scoring the first try of the afternoon in a play that would have sent Raiders coach Ricky Stuart grey. Matthew Timoko collected the ball in the in-goal and attempted to offload the ball only for to be grounded by the Storm.

MATCH CENTRE: Raiders vs Storm live updates, video, scores

Stream every game of every round of the 2022 NRL Telstra Premiership Season Live & Ad-Break Free During Play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-days free now.

Luckily for Timoko, the referee picked up on a knock-on and the try was disallowed.

But the Storm did end up scoring the first four-pointer after all through Harry Grant. The livewire No.9 burrowed over out of dummy-half as Fox League analyst Steve Roach declared “there’s your next Australian hooker there.”

They doubled down with Jahrome Hughes crossing six minutes later.

Two turned into three as Fox League commentator Warren Smith said the Raiders had gotten “pulled apart” by the Storm’s stars.

Pint-sized Raiders hooker Tom Starling was no match for Munster who broke through, palmed off Corey Horsburgh and passed to Ryan Papenhuyzen to score.

The Raiders hit back through powerhouse winger Semi Valemei who bounced out of a Papenhuyzen and Brandon Smith try to score.

Papenhuyzen came out of the collision looking a little worse for wear and left the field for a HIA. But fortunately he passed and returned to the field as the second half kicked off.

Melbourne extended their lead through hard-hitting centre Justin Olam who barged over off a perfectly-timed pass from Munster.

The Raiders kept themselves in the game a Nick Cotric try in the 70th minute, but their 14 errors made it hard to keep up with a well-drilled Storm outfit.

Melbourne sealed the deal through Hughes’ second of the day four minutes later… despite a Raiders penalty goal on the final buzzer.


Raiders: 1. Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad 2. Nick Cotric 3. Matthew Timoko 4. Semi Valemei 5. Jordan Rapana 6. Jack Wighton 7. Brad Schneider 8. Josh Papali’i 9. Tom Starling 10. Joseph Tapine 19. Ryan Sutton 12. Corey Harawira-Naera 13. Elliott Whitehead 14. Matt Frawley 15. Emre Guler 16. Adam Elliott 17. Corey Horsburgh. Replacement player: 18. Xavier Savage

Storm: 1. Ryan Papenhuyzen 2. Nick Meaney 3. Reimis Smith 4. Justin Olam 5. Xavier Coates 6. Cameron Munster 7. Jahrome Hughes 8. Jesse Bromwich 9. Harry Grant 10. Nelson Asofa-Solomona 11. Felise Kaufusi 12. Kenny Bromwich 13. Josh King 14. Brandon Smith 15. Alec MacDonald 16. Trent Loiero 17. Tepai Moeroa. Replacement player: 21. Jayden Nikorima

Get all the latest NRL news, highlights and analysis delivered straight to your inbox with Fox Sports Sportmail. Sign up now!!

Re-live the action live in your blow below. If you can’t see it, click here.

#Canberra #Raiders #Melbourne #Storm #live #updates #SuperCoach #scores #video #Cameron #Munster #Ryan #Papenhuyzen #Brandon #Smith

Source by [graycupnews.com]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here